STYRIAN IRON TRAIL

10 stages | 200 kilometers | 9000 vertical meters

Long distance hiking in Styria

New long-distance hiking trail in the Erzberg-Leoben region

Go far, sleep well!

Hotel Kindler is hotel partner in the center of Leoben and welcomes all long-distance hikers at the trail’s destination!

The ERZBERG-LEOBEN region can be wonderfully explored on foot since August 2022, perfectly signposted and marked. Starting from St. Michael i.O., the new long-distance hiking trail leads along the Liesing Valley to Wald am Schoberpass for the first few days. A total of 14 communities of the adventure and sports region are “on the way”. Numerous accommodation partners along the trail are happy to look after the well-being of ambitious long-distance hiking fans. The snack box available at the starting point – filled with delicacies from the “GenussReich” partners – ensures that you never run out of strength along the way.

The first three stages are ideal to “break in”, before it then goes in 4 demanding days via Radmer, Eisenerz, the Sonnschienalm and Tragöß to Vordernberg.
The final 3 stages are then hiked from Trofaiach to Niklasdorf and finally over our local mountain, the Mugel.
The mining town of Leoben is the perfect trail conclusion and invites tired hikers to stay for one more night after reaching their self-set goal. Relaxation in the AsiaSpa, shopping in the LCS or a visit to an event will make you fit again for your next adventure after the exertions.

The start and end points of the Styrian Iron Trail are both ideally accessible by train. The return journey from Leoben to the starting point in St. Michael (to perhaps reach the vehicle parked there) is also completed in a few minutes by train.

At Hotel Kindler 2.0, a cozy single or double room awaits tired but happy trail graduates. To replenish the sweated-out electrolytes, the Arkadenhof – Leoben’s oldest brewery pub – will serve you a freshly tapped glass of GÖSSER beer. After a relaxing night, no wishes remain unfulfilled at the breakfast buffet and you save 20% on admission to the wellness oasis AsiaSpa. In addition, our team will be happy to help you organize your transportation to the starting point of the STYRIAN IRON TRAIL.

What to wait for? START!
The path is created as you walk, and we are already looking forward to congratulating you on your success at the end of this special journey!

You would like to get an insight into the individual stages and their beauties and challenges in advance? The project coordinators Silvia and Elisabeth have prepared the trail by means of short videos. Click through the VIDEOS, because anticipation is known to be the best joy.

Further information about the Styrian Iron Trail can also be found on the website of the Styrian Tourist Board STEIERMARK.COM

Do you have further questions? We are always happy to help you!
By phone at +43 3842 43202 or per
eMail to office@kindler.at

Latest News

There are no special measures to be taken concerning the Corona pandemic at the moment. …

Leoben has a lot to offer in terms of leisure activities. Exhibitions and concerts, charity …

STYRIAN IRON TRAIL

10 Etappen | 200 Kilometer | 9000 Höhenmeter

Weitwandern in der Steiermark

Neuer Weitwanderweg in der Region Erzberg-Leoben

Weit gehen, gut schlafen!

Das Hotel Kindler ist Hotelpartner im Zentrum von Leoben und heißt alle Weitwanderer am Zielort des Trails herzlich willkommen!

Die Region ERZBERG-LEOBEN kann seit August 2022, perfekt beschildert und markiert, wunderbar zu Fuß erkundet werden. Ausgehend von St. Michael i.O. führt der neue Weitwanderweg die ersten Tage entlang des Liesingtals nach Wald am Schoberpass. Insgesamt liegen 14 Gemeinden der Abenteuer- und Sportregion „am Weg“. Zahlreiche Unterkunftspartner entlang des Trails kümmern sich gerne um das Wohlergehen ambitionierter Weitwanderfans. Die am Startpunkt erhältliche Jausenbox – gefüllt mit Köstlichkeiten der „GenussReich“-Partner – stellt sicher, dass unterwegs die Kräfte niemals ausgehen.

Die ersten drei Etappen sind ideal um sich „einzugehen“, bevor es dann in 4 anspruchsvollen Tagen über Radmer, Eisenerz, die Sonnschienalm und Tragöß nach Vordernberg geht.
Den Abschluss bilden dann 3 Etappen in denen von Trofaiach nach Niklasdorf und schließlich über unseren Hausberg, die Mugel, gewandert wird. 
Die Montanstadt Leoben bildet den perfekten Trail-Abschluss und lädt müde Wanderer ein, nach Erreichung des selbstgesteckten Ziels noch eine Nacht zu verweilen. Erholung im AsiaSpa, Shopping im LCS oder der Besuch einer Veranstaltung machen nach den Strapazen wieder fit für Ihr nächstes Abenteuer.

Start- und Endpunkt des Styrian Iron Trails sind jeweils ideal mit dem Zug erreichbar. Auch die Rückreise von Leoben an den Startort St. Michael (um vielleicht das dort geparkte Fahrzeug zu erreichen) ist mit dem Zug in wenigen Minuten absolviert.

Im Hotel Kindler 2.0 wartet auf müde, aber glückliche, Trail-Absolvent*Innen ein gemütliches Einzel- oder Doppelzimmer. Um die ausgeschwitzten Elektrolyte wieder aufzufüllen, serviert Ihnen der Arkadenhof – die älteste Braugaststätte Leobens – ein frisch gezapftes Glas GÖSSER-Bier. Nach einer entspannten Nacht bleiben am Frühstücksbuffet keine Wünsche offen und beim Eintritt in die Wellness-Oase AsiaSpa sparen Sie 20%. Darüber hinaus ist Ihnen unser Team gerne bei der Organisation ihres Transports an den Ausgangsort des STYRIAN IRON TRAILS behilflich.

Worauf warten? STARTEN!
Der Weg entsteht beim Gehen und wir freuen uns bereits darauf, Ihnen am Ende dieses speziellen Weges zu Ihrem Erfolg gratulieren zu dürfen!

Sie möchten sich vorab einen Einblick in die einzelnen Etappen und deren Schönheiten und Herausforderungen verschaffen? Die Projektkoordinatorinnen Silvia und Elisabeth haben den Trail mittels kurzer Videos aufbereitet. Klicken Sie sich durch die VIDEOS, denn Vorfreude ist bekanntlich die schönste Freude. In Textform findet sich eine ausführliche Beschreibung der letzten Etappe auf meinbezirk.at

Weitere Infos zum Styrian Iron Trail finden Sie auch auf der Webseite des Steiermark-Tourismus STEIERMARK.COM

Sie haben weitere Fragen? Wir sind jederzeit gerne für Sie da!
Telefonisch unter +43 3842 43202 oder per
eMail an office@kindler.at

Neueste News

Leoben ist eine Stadt mit einem vielfältigen Angebot an Freizeitaktivitäten. Ausstellungen und Konzerten, Charity- und …

fahrrad-leoben

Das Hotel Kindler 2.0 eignet sich durch seine Lage direkt am Murradweg R2 ideal als …